close ad

Important WebAssist Announcement
open ad
View Menu

Technical Support Forums

Free, outstanding support from WebAssist and your colleagues

rating

Trying to fudge some code!! :)

Thread began 2/15/2011 12:39 pm by iamdan356160 | Last modified 2/22/2011 10:03 am by Jason Byrnes | 4226 views | 15 replies |

iamdan356160

Trying to fudge some code!! :)

Hi all,
I'm not a PHP expert in any shape or form... mainly find myself guessing my way thru stuff (due to the fact that you can with the help of WebAssist plugins :)...
Anyway... got this line of code in my script...

$query_rs_discountdetails = "SELECT * FROM Discounts WHERE disc_code = $row_WADAUsers['User_DiscCode']";

which is causing a syntax error. Im trying to get the SQL statement to use a binding from another recordset. Any ideas on how to get this to work??
Regards,

Dan

Sign in to reply to this post

Jason ByrnesWebAssist

correct syntax would be:
$query_rs_discountdetails = "SELECT * FROM Discounts WHERE disc_code = ". $row_WADAUsers['User_DiscCode'];

make sure that the rs_discountdetails code is on the page before it is used in this query.

iamdan356160

Hi Jason,
Thank you for the quick reply... this sorted the syntax error... But, I've not been able to actually achieve my desired goal... maybe you could help with that?...

I've built a list / results page, using DataAssist... I've added some icons into the list, with a cool tooltip that displays more details. Each record in the list is a record from the "Users" table, and contains a field called 'User_DiscCode'. I also have a table called 'Discounts' that contains a field called 'disc_code'. I basically want to be able to display the Discount info (from the 'discount' table) in the tool tip, if 'disc_code' matches the users 'User_DiscCode'. How could I this and make it work for all records in the list?

Does that make sense?

Jason ByrnesWebAssist